Kawit Cavite, the birth place of the Philippine independence - Isla Story

Isla Story

ISLASTORY is a brand powered by Rakso Travel. Intended for those who want to design their own trip to the Philippines in a more special way. It features exciting and comprehensive listing of tours and activities such as diving, kayaking, hopping tours, zip lines, parasailing, horseback riding, spa and many other activities you can enjoy book within just seconds. The 7107 islands of the Philippines come to you with 7107 different stories! Design the trip YOU always want with IslaStory!

Monday, June 11, 2018

Kawit Cavite, the birth place of the Philippine independence

Emilio Aguinaldo Museum and Shrine, Freedom Park

June 12, is the Philippine Independence Day or Freedom Day. In Filipino, it is called, “Araw ng Kalayaan”. The entire nation celebrates one of the most important dates in the Philippine history - commemorating the Philippine Declaration of Independence from Spanish colonization over 100 years ago.

Let's visit the spot where the Philippines’ freedom began.

Emilio Aguinaldo Museum and Shrine

The place where the first President of the Philippines was born is also the birthplace of the Philippine Independence. It is known as the Aguinaldo Mansion located in Kawit Cavite. It is the exact location where, for the first time, the Philippine flag was officially hoisted and the Philippine National March was played in public on June 12, 1989.

By the virtue of the Republic Act No. 4039, the house was declared a national shrine, in 1964.

Emilio Aguinaldo’s monument

Currently, the Aguinaldo Mansion is under the care of the National Historical Commission. The mansion turned museum & national shrine, houses the 4 galleries of major collections from the past: (1) Aguinaldo's early year up to the Katipunan; (2) the Revolution and the Declaration of Independence; (3) the Road to the First Republic; and (4) Filipino - American War (source).

Here's the quick look at Philippine history.

In 1521, Philippine was discovered by the European explorer, Ferdinand Magellan and claimed the island for Spain, however, he has been killed in the Battle of Mactan. In 1542, Spanish explorer Ruy Lopez de Villalobos, during his expedition named the 2 islands of Leyte and Samar,  "Las Islas Filipinas"  in honor of   King Phillip lI of Spain. Eventually, the names referred to cover the entire archipelago.

The Philippines has been a colony of Spain for more than 300 years and ended with the outbreak of the Philippine Revolution in 1898.

In 1962 President Diosdado Macapagal issued Proclamation No. 28 declaring June 12 as the Independence Day holiday. Since then, June 12 has been the country's national day of celebrating freedom.

* * *
Photos of the Freedom Park (featuring the President Emilio Aguinaldo Museum and Shrine)
Photos by Mr. David Kim

Entrance of the Emilio Aguinaldo Shrine

Inside the museum showing a diorama of the war between Filipinos and the Spanish

The Aguinaldo's Mansion, now a museum

General Emilio Aguinaldo's tomb

The tomb of General Emilio Aguinaldo inside the Shrine

No comments:

Post a Comment